Club History / Charter Members
A little history ... 
Born in the fall of 1936, the Courtenay Rotary Club celebrates its 84th year with a proud record of service to the communities of the Comox Valley.
In October of 1936, Courtenay businessman, Hi Smith was approached by Vancouver Rotarian W.C.(Bill) Mainwaring (VP of B.C. Electric) urging him to initiate the formation of a Rotary Club in Courtenay. Mr. Smith, in the company of Mr. Mainwaring, canvassed the town and within one day the minimum requirement of 20 business and professional men had indicated their desire to form a Rotary club and the Rotary Club of Courtenay came into being on the 27th of November 1936. Hi Smith was appointed President, Leo Anderton -Secretary (Audrey Craig’s Grandfather & Craig Rennison’s Great Grandfather) Harold Eakin – Treasurer, Joe Hitchen  - Sergeant at Arms, supported by Directors Padre Bryce Wallace, Bill Rickson, Dr. Lew Smith and Bob Lang. In addition, there were 12 charter members. At that time admission fees were $10.00 and Annual Dues were $17.50.
Of the 83 Past Presidents of our club, Neil Woodrow was the last to pass in 2018.  Our most senior Active Past President is Bent Harder with 57 years of continual service.
The first luncheon meeting was held at the Elks Hall on October 27, 1936, and with "service" as its motto, the Rotary Club of Courtenay inaugurated a long history of community involvement and activity when it participated in sending a carload of fruit and vegetables to the drought-stricken areas of the prairies.



FOUNDING  MEMBERS  ( Click on Link to view Directors)

CHARTER NIGHT ( Click on Link to see what was for dinner)